Board of Directors


Craig Benedetto - Headshot
Craig Benedetto 
California Strategies, LLC

robin madaffer
Robin Madaffer 
(Vice Chairwoman)

Bill Sauls
Bill Sauls (Treasurer)
William H. Sauls, Attorney at Law

Sam Attisha
Sam Attisha  (Secretary)
Cox Communications

Frank Urtasun headshot
Frank Urtasun
(Immediate Past Chairman)
Sempra Services

Headshot Kris Michell Final
Kris Michell (CEO)
Downtown San Diego Partnership

Board Members

Nelson Ackerly
Kilroy Realty Corporation

Matt Adams
Manchester Grand Hyatt

Michael Akavan
MA Engineers, Inc.

Ruben Andrews
Graphic Solutions

Terry Arnett
TSA Contracting, Inc.

Richard Bach
Turner Construction

Jonathan Bailey
the i.d.e.a. brand

Bob Bell
Dentons US LLP

Whitney Benzian
CA Apartment Association

Phil Blair
Manpower San Diego

Greg Bowman
Bollert Lebeau Commercial Real Estate

Kim Brewer
Westfield Corporation, Inc.

Casey Brown
The Casey Brown Company

Marjorie Burchett
Withers Bergman LLP

Michael Burton
Cushman & Wakefield

Matt Carlson

Jeff Cavignac
Cavignac and Associates

Jim Chatfield
JMI Realty

Nikki Clay
The Clay Company

Steve Cushman
Cush Enterprises

Bob Daugherty
Ashford University

Jim Dawe
Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek

Ignacio De La Torre

Perry Dealy
Dealy Development, Inc.

Scott Diggs
Irvine Company Office Properties

Rodger Dougherty
Kaiser Permanente

Steve Espino
Banner Bank

Jennifer Farnham
Gilbane Building Company

Tod Firotto
San Diego Restaurant Supply

Brendan Foote
Fabric Investments

Henry Ford
Fox Sports San Diego

Chris Frahm
Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP

Steve Friar
Hensel Phelps

Darrel Fullbright

Gaf Gaffen

Rick Gentry
San Diego Housing Commission

Joyce Glazer
San Diego Magazine

Ashley Gosal
Bosa Development Corporation

Ernie Hahn
Velley View Casino Center

Patricia Hollenbeck
Duane Morris

Star Hughes-Gorup
Hughes Marino

Derek Hulse
Cushman & Wakefield

Jordan Johnson
Emmes Realty Services of California

Michael Johnson
Carrier Johnson + CULTURE

Brian Jones
Zeeto Media

Donna Jones
Law Offices of Donna Jones

Eric Jones
Urban Real Estate Services

Keith B. Jones
Ace Parking

Cecilia Kucharski
Balfour Beatty Construction

James Langley
Schwartz Commercial Realty

Rob Lankford
Lankford & Associates

James Lawson
Presidio PAG, Inc.

Michael Leake
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP

Kevin Legge
Clark Construction Group — California, LP

MaeLin Levine
Urban Discovery Academy

Stephen Lew
S. Lew & Associates

Jeff Light
The San Diego Union-Tribune

Alvin Mansour
The Mansour Group

Jack McGrory
La Jolla MJ Management, LLC

Stacy Mendes
Underground Elephant, Inc.

Howard Mills
Rudolph and Sletten, Inc.

Neil Mohr
Republic Services

Job Nelson
Unified Port of San Diego

James Nigro
U.S. Bank

John Ohanian
2-1-1 San Diego

Sumeet Parekh
HP Investors

John Passanante
Syska Hennessy Group, Inc.

Doug Paul
The Paul Company

Mark Payne
Swinerton Builders, Inc.

Stacey Lankford Pennington
SLP Urban Planning

Phil Petersen
Dynalectric San Diego

Matthew Porreca

Glenn Quiroga
Sycuan Band of Kumeyaay Nation

Victor Ramsauer

Phil Rath
Rath Miller LLC

Cynthia Morgan Reed
Morgan Reed Law

Scott Ripperton
Wells Fargo Bank

Paul Robinson
Hecht, Solberg, Robinson, Goldberg & Bagley LLP

Rana Sampson
Union Bank

Ken Sauder
Wakeland Housing and Development Corporation

Tom Seidler
San Diego Padres

Greg Shields
Project Design Consultants

Ryan Sisson
Moniker Group

Don Stanziano
Scripps Health

Jeff Stauffer

Tito Taing

Jan Tharp
Bumble Bee Foods, LLC

Krista Torquato
Bank of America

Deacon Jim Vargas
Father Joe’s Villages

Pedro Villegas
San Diego Gas & Electric

Bess Wakeman

Aaron Wiehe
PCL Construction Services, Inc.

Nicholas Wilson
Douglas Wilson Companies


Darin Anderson

Mark Cafferty
San Diego Regional EDC

Marcela Celorio
Consulate General of Mexico

Scott Chadwick
City of San Diego

Aimee Faucett
San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce

Rich Geisler
Civic San Diego

Howard Greenberg
Gaslamp Quarter Association

David Hazan
East Village Association

Haney Hong
San Diego Tax Payers Association

Rear Admiral Yancy Lindsey
Navy Region Southwest

Mike Madigan
Community Representative

Jamie Moraga
San Diego Military Advisory Council

Bob Morris
RBM & Associates

Mark Navarra
Jerome’s Furniture

Joe Panetta

Stephen Puetz
Office of Mayor Kevin Faulconer

Claudine Scott
PBID Board Chair

Pat Stark
Stark Construction Consulting

Joyce Summer
Cortez Community

Joe Terzi
San Diego Tourism Authority

Jim Waring
CleanTech San Diego

Tony Young
Civic Link Strategies



Meets every other Thursday at 9:00 a.m.
Chair: Michele Vives, Douglas Wilson Companies
This group will evaluate our current resources and explore new funding mechanisms to ensure we have a sustainable staffing structure to deliver on our “Imagine Downtown” action plan.

Chair: Bill Sauls, William A. Sauls Attorney at Law
This group is responsible for reviewing and providing guidance for the DSDP’S financial matters. Specifically, the committee assures internal controls, independent audit, and financial analysis for the organization.

Co-Chair: Alex Rolek, ScoutRED
Co-Chair: Brian Jones, Zeeto
This group will work to identify best practices and incentives to grow the needed tech ecosystem in Downtown, including the creation of an incubator/accelerator space.

This 501c3 foundation is dedicated to enhance the quality of life in Downtown San Diego by: Working to systematically eliminate homelessness and working to create and implement Our Downtown Vision –identifying needs and priorities and outlining the strategies for implementation.

Co-Chair: Craig Benedetto, California Strategies
Co-Chair: Amber Mauer, Miller Hull Partnership
This group is focused on ensuring that we have a comprehensive membership program offering the right mix of events, benefits and value to retain and attract new members so we can successfully grow our organization and deliver on our mission.


Meets the first Wednesday of each month at 8:30 a.m.
Co-Chair: Phil Blair, Manpower San Diego
Co-Chair: Ann Berchtold, Art San Diego
This group will focus on efforts to develop a comprehensive placemaking strategy as well as attract and promote arts and culture events at venues throughout Downtown.

Co-Chair: Michele Vives, Douglas Wilson Companies
Co-Chair: James Lawson, Presidio PAG, Inc.
This group monitors and advocates on issues affecting the design and development of Downtown San Diego as well as providing direction on all matters of the Downtown San Diego Partnership that relate to government, particularly at a local level.

This 501c3 foundation is dedicated to preserving, promoting and advancing the acquisition, programming and maintenance of parks and open space in downtown San Diego for the benefit of the community at large.

Stay Informed
Find Us On